I Baroque Insomnia 

Anxiety always hits the worse at night, and I’m wanting to fall asleep. 

I close my eyes. Nestle my head into my pillow. Breath in deep, and settle under my covers. 

Then I notice that my heart rate is starting to creep up. The thumping gets louder in my chest. I start to wonder what there is going on for me to feel anxious about and come up blank. 

My hearts pounds. I don’t understand!   

My hearts pounds. What is going on?!     

My heart pounds. I guess I won’t be falling asleep. 

This has been the routine whenever an anxiety attack comes on. Since I was 18 or 19 years old. Sometimes I can identify what has me worked up but usually not. 

One night, around 3am, I decided to try music. No lyrics because I would be tempted to stay up and sing along. 

I scrolled through the different classical stations. I tried classical strings, Renaissance and a few others. None of them soothed me. In fact, I felt more agitated! 

Then I tried Baroque. Mostly because of the joke Cogsworth makes in Disney’s Beauty and the Beast: “If it’s not Baroque, don’t fix it.”  

I was out like a light within 15 minutes. 

Midday nap-out in 15 minutes.  

I wake up early and refreshed in the mornings. I’m not sure what it is about the music, but it completely calms me. 

Except when the Pandora ads wake me up. 

Leave a Reply

